Books

Reviews of many different types of books, from fiction, factual, diet, nutrition, autobiographies and more!

Reviewing Wren Jane Beacon At War By D J Lindsay

Reviewing Wren Jane Beacon At War By D J Lindsay

D J Lindsay has written the second part of his Wren Jane Beacon series. Below is an outline of the book written by Douglas and followed by readers reviews.

By Jan Rosser | 29 Sep 2018

Encouraging Emotional Resilience in your Grandchildren

Encouraging Emotional Resilience in your Grandchildren

It’s hard to see your grandchild struggling with low self-esteem or anxiety. The best thing you can do for their mental health is to set a good example. 

By Poppy O'Neill | 21 Sep 2018

My Review Of Transcription By Kate Atkinson

My Review Of Transcription By Kate Atkinson

It’s 1940 and eighteen-year-old grammar school girl Juliet Armstrong is recruited by MI5 to become a secretary, holed up in a secret location transcribing the meetings of a group of Nazi sympathisers. 

By Margaret James | 17 Sep 2018

Readers Reviews Of Fabulous Books From Urbane Publications Part 2

Readers Reviews Of Fabulous Books From Urbane Publications Part 2

Following on from the very popular first article of authors publications, here are some more great readers reviews.

By Jan Rosser | 24 Aug 2018

Readers Reviews of Super Books From Avon Publications Part 2

Readers Reviews of Super Books From Avon Publications Part 2

Following on from the first article of readers reviews of Avon books, I am pleased to share some more with you all.

By Jan Rosser | 22 Aug 2018

Review Of Anyone For Seconds? By Laurie Graham

Review Of Anyone For Seconds? By Laurie Graham

Sixty-something Lizzie Partridge used to be a celebrity chef on daytime television until she started an on-screen fight with a presenter and another guest, lost two of her front teeth in the process, and got the sack. 

By Margaret James | 20 Aug 2018

My Review Of The Forgotten Guide To Happiness By Sophie Jenkins

My Review Of The Forgotten Guide To Happiness By Sophie Jenkins

When novelist Lana Green’s literary agent tells Lana that her second, as-yet-unpublished novel is actually never going to be published because it’s depressing, bleak and bitter, Lana is upset but not really surprised that her novel about rejection has been rejected.

By Margaret James | 16 Aug 2018

Grandparents – The Cornerstone Of Family Life

Grandparents – The Cornerstone Of Family Life

I was amazed to read, the other day, that one in every three people over the age of 50 in the UK is a grandparent. 

By Wendy White | 15 Aug 2018

Readers Reviews Of Super Books From Avon Publications

Readers Reviews Of Super Books From Avon Publications

Sabah Khan from Avon Publications has very kindly sent out some excellent novels for my team of readers to review. This first article contains six books. If you wish to buy a book or books, please order directly from the website images below. Happy reading!

By Jan Rosser | 25 Jul 2018

Readers Reviews Of Fabulous Books From Urbane Publications

Readers Reviews Of Fabulous Books From Urbane Publications

Matthew Smith of Urbane Publications very kindly sent out a selection of books to members of the ReviewSpot Book Club and I am delighted to share their reviews and my own of the first four books with you all.

By Jan Rosser | 18 Jul 2018

Buster, the Dog Who Saved A Thousand Lives

Buster, the Dog Who Saved A Thousand Lives

This book is sensitively written without taking anything away from the impact it had on me.

By Lyn Wild | 16 Jul 2018

My Review Of Summer At 23 The Strand By Linda Mitchelmore

My Review Of Summer At 23 The Strand By Linda Mitchelmore

What happens when Martha, Cally, Arthur, Lucy, Ana, Stella and several more holidaymakers, who all have issues to resolve, spend a fortnight in a chalet in a Devon seaside town? 

By Margaret James | 23 Jun 2018

My Review Of The Cornish Village School - Breaking the Rules By Kitty Wilson

My Review Of The Cornish Village School - Breaking the Rules By Kitty Wilson

When the local village primary school is threatened with closure, and it looks as if the children might be relocated to a much bigger, more anonymous school, feisty headmistress Rosy Winter and her team of loyal staff are determined to fight for its survival.

By Margaret James | 21 Jun 2018

My Review Of The Truth About Her By Simon Kettlewell

My Review Of The Truth About Her By Simon Kettlewell

British author Simon Kettlewell’s novel The Truth About Us sold 25,000 copies and touched the hearts of thousands of readers.

By Margaret James | 06 Jun 2018

My Review Of He Said She Said By Erin Kelly

My Review Of He Said She Said By Erin Kelly

Recent graduate and astronomy fanatic Kit has fallen in love with Laura, who is the kind of smart, beautiful and clever girl he’d have thought would be forever out of his reach. 

By Margaret James | 27 May 2018

My Review Of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine By Gail Honeyman

My Review Of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine By Gail Honeyman

Eleanor Oliphant is completely fine – except that she’s far from fine. 

By Jan Rosser | 20 May 2018

My Review of Her Secret by Kelly Florentia

My Review of Her Secret by Kelly Florentia

I was delighted to have the opportunity to read an advance copy of Her Secret, primarily because it was such a huge pleasure to meet Audrey Fox (the heroine of Kelly’s previous bestseller No Way Back) again. 

By Margaret James | 17 May 2018

My Review Of Missing Pieces By Heather Gudenkauf

My Review Of Missing Pieces By Heather Gudenkauf

This American novelist has a talent for writing stories in which small town America and the people who live there are shown to be as interesting, flawed, good and bad as in any big city. 

By Margaret James | 12 May 2018

Not all CBD oils are the same.

We offer a full spectrum, genuine 'golden' CBD oil which has the unwanted plant matter and chlorophyll removed, leaving a better tasting and more effective extract, packed full of active cannabinoids.

We ensure our products have a high CBD content, giving better value for money. Our oil is as close to natural as we can get it and is vegan friendly.

We don't make medical claims but it you're yet to discover CBD then do some research and find out why so many people around the world are turning to it for their wellbeing.

Buy from TheHerbKingdom.com

It's the wedding season again and Cat is looking forward to her big day. But will it all work out?

Buy from Amazon.

Available in great tasting Elderberry or Honey and Lemon flavours.

Directions for use:

Shake before use. Spray into mouth. Use as often as required... Suitable for vegetarian use.

Ingredients:

Water, Glycerine, Aloe Vera, Flavour of choice (Elderberry Juice or Honey* Lemon juice)

Rose Cider Vinegar* and natural flavours* (extracts of liquorice, ginger, sage, thyme, rosehip, elderflower)

*organic ingredients used.

Made in the UK.

Give your voice clarity

Available to buy from Amazon in flavours Elderberry and Honey and Lemon

Amazon review: a wonderful book, full of practical, useful tips.

If you're thinking about doing some creative writing this winter,

our 5* handbook will inspire you and give you confidence.

Available to buy from Amazon