Music

Reviews of favourite albums, songwriters, instruments, videos and performances.

Interviewing Ralph McTell, Singer Songwriter Extraordinaire Part 4

Interviewing Ralph McTell, Singer Songwriter Extraordinaire Part 4

Over the years I have seen Ralph McTell perform many times and each time, there always seems to be a new selection of wonderful guitars.

By Jan Rosser | 31 Jul 2020

Interviewing Ralph Mctell, Singer Songwriter Extraordinaire Part 3

Interviewing Ralph Mctell, Singer Songwriter Extraordinaire Part 3

The fifties were coming to an end and music was really starting to take off on all levels.

By Jan Rosser | 24 Jul 2020

Interviewing Ralph Mctell, Singer Songwriter Extraordinaire Part 2

Interviewing Ralph Mctell, Singer Songwriter Extraordinaire Part 2

I asked Ralph when did he realise that he wanted to be a full time musician and he told me that you just don't dare believe it can happen.

By Jan Rosser | 17 Jul 2020

Interviewing Ralph McTell, Singer Songwriter Extraordinaire - Part 1

Interviewing Ralph McTell, Singer Songwriter Extraordinaire - Part 1

On 16th October 2014, I had the pleasure of interviewing one of my all time favourite singer songwriters, poet and author Ralph McTell.

By Jan Rosser | 10 Jul 2020

We'll Meet Again By Helen Vereker Singers

We'll Meet Again By Helen Vereker Singers

Do listen to We'll Meet Again and join in!

By Jan Rosser | 08 May 2020

The Singer Not The Song

The Singer Not The Song

Throughout my long life, I’ve been lucky to see many singers in person, starting way back in the 1950s when post-war austerity was still being felt throughout the country.

By Anne Harvey | 02 May 2020

It's Never Too Late To Start Learning A New Musical Instrument!

It's Never Too Late To Start Learning A New Musical Instrument!

How are we all surviving the lockdown?  Taking up a new hobby?

By Jan Rosser | 23 Apr 2020

My Choice Of Desert Island Discs

My Choice Of Desert Island Discs

I have listened to Desert Island Discs since I was a teenager. How hard it is to choose 8 discs to take to a desert island!

By Jan Rosser | 05 Apr 2020

How 5 Albums Can Inspire Your Love Of Music

How 5 Albums Can Inspire Your Love Of Music

We are experiencing challenging times and thank goodness for music to help us through the days.

By Jan Rosser | 28 Mar 2020

My Review Of Hill Of Beans By Ralph McTell

My Review Of Hill Of Beans By Ralph McTell

After a nine year wait, Ralph McTell has a new CD out!

By Jan Rosser | 09 Nov 2019

My Review And Q And A With The Upbeat Beatles

My Review And Q And A With The Upbeat Beatles

I went to see The Upbeat Beatles at The Courtyard in Hereford on 31st October 2019. What a show!

By Jan Rosser | 07 Nov 2019

Helen Vereker Singers 15 Year Anniversary!

Helen Vereker Singers 15 Year Anniversary!

Helen Vereker Singers are celebrating their 15th anniversary and are holding a sing-a-long concert and party. It’s family friendly too!

By Jan Rosser | 28 Aug 2019

Reviewing 8 Albums From My Vinyl Collection

Reviewing 8 Albums From My Vinyl Collection

I listen to music every day and would be lost without it! 

By Jan Rosser | 30 Jan 2019

Reviewing My Memories Of My 1965 Pop Concert To See The Beatles!

Reviewing My Memories Of My 1965 Pop Concert To See The Beatles!

Mary Burns writes about her memories of this fabulous concert in 1965.

By Jan Rosser | 16 Jan 2019

My Interview With Paul Metcalfe - Some Guys Have All The Luck!

My Interview With Paul Metcalfe - Some Guys Have All The Luck!

Paul Metcalfe is currently on tour performing 'Some Guys Have All The Luck' as Rod Stewart with his band. 

By Jan Rosser | 06 Oct 2018

Review Of Helen Vereker Singers Video Of We Go Together!

Review Of Helen Vereker Singers Video Of We Go Together!

Take a group of excitable men and women from Helen Vereker Singers and ask each group to shoot a video of We Go Together from the musical Grease.

By Jan Rosser | 30 Aug 2018

successfulsinging.com

Our goal is to provide our singing community with quality products and resources to help get the most from their singing.

Over 80 FREE videos too, including singing lessons, scales, breathing exercises etc.

Subscribe below

 

The Final Reckoning

The Final Reckoning is an atmospheric, twisty thriller set in the peaceful (or maybe not so peaceful) Herefordshire countryside.

When Lindsay Ellis was a teenager,  he stumbled across the dead body of her boyfriend Simon’s father, who had been battered to death.

Someone in the village knows who murdered Simon's father, and why.

Does the actual killer suspect Lindsay also knows the identity of the murderer, and is Lindsay now in great danger, too?

Available to buy from Amazon

 

CLARITY -An all natural voice spray

Clarity Voice Spray

Available in great tasting Elderberry or Honey and Lemon flavours.

Directions for use:

Shake before use. Spray into mouth. Use as often as required... Suitable for vegetarian use.

Ingredients:

Water, Glycerine, Aloe Vera, Flavour of choice (Elderberry Juice or Honey* Lemon juice)

Rose Cider Vinegar* and natural flavours* (extracts of liquorice, ginger, sage, thyme, rosehip, elderflower)

*organic ingredients used.

Made in the UK.

Give your voice clarity

Available to buy from Amazon in flavours Elderberry and Honey and Lemon

Herb Kingdom

Not all CBD oils are the same.

We offer a full spectrum, genuine 'golden' CBD oil which has the unwanted plant matter and chlorophyll removed, leaving a better tasting and more effective extract, packed full of active cannabinoids.

We ensure our products have a high CBD content, giving better value for money. Our oil is as close to natural as we can get it and is vegan friendly.

We don't make medical claims but if you're yet to discover CBD then do some research and find out why so many people around the world are turning to it for their wellbeing.

Buy from

https://theherbkingdom.com/ref/7/

Creative Writing Student Handbook - Margaret James

Amazon review: a wonderful book, full of practical, useful tips.

If you're thinking about doing some creative writing this winter,

our 5* handbook will inspire you and give you confidence.

Available to buy from Amazon

Notes From The Lost by Cathie Hartigan

Two young friends go to war, but only one makes it home. Why is he not welcomed? 

In modern-day Exeter, Ros discovers what happened,

but in doing so reveals long-held family secrets.

For better, or for worse?

"a gripping and well-researched WW2 story, full of heart and emotion. Ros didn't just hold her own future in her hands,

she held the destiny of the people that she now knew as friends."

What an incredible story.

I loved the songs, felt like I could hear

the music and adored the ending.

Truly a wonderful read."

Available to buy from Amazon.