Memories

Reminiscing and reviewing past memories of places, items, people etc

Memories Of  Childhood Evacuation In  September 1939 - The Outbreak Of WW2

Memories Of Childhood Evacuation In September 1939 - The Outbreak Of WW2

Between September 1st and September 4th 1939, there were millions of mothers, babies and small children evacuated from their homes in the towns and cities across Britain.

By Jan Rosser | 02 Sep 2019

Film Stars, Hair-Dos And Reminiscences

Film Stars, Hair-Dos And Reminiscences

One of the most interesting aspects of writing about the immediate past has been the research involved, especially the cover. 

By Anne Harvey | 15 Aug 2019

A Youthful Revolution?

A Youthful Revolution?

In preparation for an up-coming author talk, I’ve been giving much thought to that time between 1954 and 1960 when a momentous change seemed to be taking place.

By Anne Harvey | 02 Aug 2019

Going Back To The Sixties And My First Job!

Going Back To The Sixties And My First Job!

So the question was what was the first job we had?

By Di Castle | 27 Jul 2019

Reviewing My Childhood Seaside Holidays In The 60's. - The UK And Abroad

Reviewing My Childhood Seaside Holidays In The 60's. - The UK And Abroad

It's been a busy week, but most of it taken up with writing and usual tasks. I don’t know why, but last night I was thinking about my seaside holidays when I was a child! 

By Jan Rosser | 18 Jun 2019

A Frightening Wake Up Call! We Mustn't Lose Our NHS!

A Frightening Wake Up Call! We Mustn't Lose Our NHS!

International Nurses Day was on May 12th last year and an article from my good friend Yvonne Probert reminds us of how valuable they ALL are!

By Jan Rosser | 12 May 2019

Reviewing Biker Babe Linda Loves A Norton!

Reviewing Biker Babe Linda Loves A Norton!

Linda Mitchelmore has updated this article she wrote for me a while ago and sent me the revised text below. I hope you enjoy reading!

By Jan Rosser | 03 Mar 2019

Reminiscing About Coal!

Reminiscing About Coal!

Remember Coal?  Lumps of black stuff which miraculously burst into flames when heat was applied to it.

By Douglas J Lindsay | 22 Dec 2018

A Review Of Nostalgic Road Trip With My New Car - A Story About Growing Up!

A Review Of Nostalgic Road Trip With My New Car - A Story About Growing Up!

Age 17 years, two months, three days and my first car had been bought and delivered. 

By Jan Rosser | 02 Dec 2018

Navy Blue Knickers, Gym Slips and School Dinners - A Review Of My Grammar School

Navy Blue Knickers, Gym Slips and School Dinners - A Review Of My Grammar School

It’s been a while since I posted a memoir-based blog (apart from last month’s ‘Stranded in New York City’), the last one being ‘Four Schools in One Term.’ 

By Anne Harvey | 21 Nov 2018

Nursery Life In The 60's - Lego, Beswick Farm Animals, Matchbox Cars, Barbie Dolls, Enid Blyton And Ladybird Picture Books!

Nursery Life In The 60's - Lego, Beswick Farm Animals, Matchbox Cars, Barbie Dolls, Enid Blyton And Ladybird Picture Books!

My late mother, Mary Laughton 10.4.1922 - 1.9.2014  dictated this article to me a few years before she passed away. Delph Joyce has also passed away in 2018 aged 104

By Jan Rosser | 25 Aug 2018

Reviewing My School Days-Happiest Of Your Lives? Not If You Don't Comply!

Reviewing My School Days-Happiest Of Your Lives? Not If You Don't Comply!

'School days The Happiest Days Of Our Lives', I beg to differ on many occasions!!! My schooldays were from 1960-1971. Here is my personal review of that period!

By Jan Rosser | 04 Jul 2018

successfulsinging.com

Our goal is to provide our singing community with quality products and resources to help get the most from their singing.

Over 70 FREE videos too, including singing lessons, scales, breathing exercises etc.

Subscribe below

 

The Final Reckoning is an atmospheric, twisty thriller set in the peaceful (or maybe not so peaceful) Herefordshire countryside.

When Lindsay Ellis was a teenager,  he stumbled across the dead body of her boyfriend Simon’s father, who had been battered to death.

Someone in the village knows who murdered Simon's father, and why.

Does the actual killer suspect Lindsay also knows the identity of the murderer, and is Lindsay now in great danger, too?

Available to buy from Amazon

 

Clarity Voice Spray

Available in great tasting Elderberry or Honey and Lemon flavours.

Directions for use:

Shake before use. Spray into mouth. Use as often as required... Suitable for vegetarian use.

Ingredients:

Water, Glycerine, Aloe Vera, Flavour of choice (Elderberry Juice or Honey* Lemon juice)

Rose Cider Vinegar* and natural flavours* (extracts of liquorice, ginger, sage, thyme, rosehip, elderflower)

*organic ingredients used.

Made in the UK.

Give your voice clarity

Available to buy from Amazon in flavours Elderberry and Honey and Lemon

Herb Kingdom

Not all CBD oils are the same.

We offer a full spectrum, genuine 'golden' CBD oil which has the unwanted plant matter and chlorophyll removed, leaving a better tasting and more effective extract, packed full of active cannabinoids.

We ensure our products have a high CBD content, giving better value for money. Our oil is as close to natural as we can get it and is vegan friendly.

We don't make medical claims but if you're yet to discover CBD then do some research and find out why so many people around the world are turning to it for their wellbeing.

Buy from

https://theherbkingdom.com/ref/7/

Creative Writing Student Handbook - Margaret James

Amazon review: a wonderful book, full of practical, useful tips.

If you're thinking about doing some creative writing this winter,

our 5* handbook will inspire you and give you confidence.

Available to buy from Amazon

Notes From The Lost by Cathie Hartigan

Two young friends go to war, but only one makes it home. Why is he not welcomed? 

In modern-day Exeter, Ros discovers what happened,

but in doing so reveals long-held family secrets.

For better, or for worse?

"a gripping and well-researched WW2 story, full of heart and emotion. Ros didn't just hold her own future in her hands,

she held the destiny of the people that she now knew as friends."

What an incredible story.

I loved the songs, felt like I could hear

the music and adored the ending.

Truly a wonderful read."

Available to buy from Amazon.