Nursery Life In The 60's - Lego, Beswick Farm Animals, Matchbox Cars, Barbie Dolls, Enid Blyton And Ladybird Picture Books!

Written by Jan Rosser in Memories on 25 Aug 2018 | Views: 707

Nursery Life In The 60's - Lego, Beswick Farm Animals, Matchbox Cars, Barbie Dolls, Enid Blyton And Ladybird Picture Books!

My late mother, Mary Laughton 10.4.1922 - 1.9.2014  dictated this article to me a few years before she passed away. Delph Joyce has also passed away in 2018 aged 104

'My best friend of over sixty-four years Delph and I were reminiscing the other day about the venture we set up in the early sixties. I am 92 next week and Delph was 100 last August. The main photo was taken at Delph's 100th birthday party.

Whilst enjoying a cup of tea one morning, Delph suggested that maybe we could start up a small nursery school. Her large Victorian house was ideal as the rooms were large and a huge fenced in the garden would be perfect for a play area

To our delight, the idea was approved by Herefordshire Council and a G.P and we were told to go ahead.

Our maximum number of children, including babies, was nine and the nursery would be allowed to operate from 9 am until noon Monday through to Friday.

Nursery Life

Playtime in the garden

When the children arrived, to get everyone in a happy frame of mind, we used to start the day singing a nursery rhyme that one of the children chose. This would settle the little ones who would sometimes cry when their mothers left.

We used to read stories and teach the children how to add up numbers. Lego, farm animals, dolls, several picture books and a blackboard with chalk for drawing pictures were available for the children to play with

Weather permitting, there was always time to play outdoors. The garden was equipped with a slide, a swing and a covered fish pond to keep the children amused. Babies would be outside in their prams enjoying the fresh air. Simple ball games were popular and hoopla hooping was another craze that was just starting up. The laughter was infectious and Delph and I knew we had made the right "career" choice.

At 11 am, drinks and biscuits would be served and the children were allowed to talk amongst themselves for a while and again, if the weather was fine, we would take them for a walk around the streets and point out the various sights and teach the toddler's road skills.

Nursery Life

Loving Kitty!

When the mothers picked the children and babies up at midday, they would all be happy and the toddlers proudly showed their pictures they had drawn and Lego structures they had built

Unfortunately, after eighteen months or thereabouts, we had to close the nursery as Delph, who was a JP had many council meetings to attend and I was not allowed to run the nursery on my own.

This was a very happy time in my life and I became a childminder myself for around five years or so. 

We are still in contact with many of the children we looked after to this day and they all have fond memories of their time spent with us.'

EDITOR: Now that Mary and Delph have both passed away, I have let the local people know who went to their nursery and still live in Hereford over 60 years later.

Support Reviewspot by browsing the products below

Tags

Like this post? Share it with your friends

Related Articles

My Interview With Paul Metcalfe - Some Guys Have All The Luck!

My Interview With Paul Metcalfe - Some Guys Have All The Luck!

Paul Metcalfe is currently on tour performing 'Some Guys Have All The Luck' as Rod Stewart with his band. 

By Jan Rosser | 06 Oct 2018

A Review Of How To Ensure Your Dog Has The Best Life Possible With help From Canine Troubles - Sue Sly Dog Behaviourist Based In South Herefordshire

A Review Of How To Ensure Your Dog Has The Best Life Possible With help From Canine Troubles - Sue Sly Dog Behaviourist Based In South Herefordshire

My good friend Susan Sly is an excellent Dog Behaviourist. If you live in Herefordshire and would like help with your dog, do read this article as sent to me in Sue's words.

By Jan Rosser | 30 May 2018

Need A Great Cordless Lawn Mower? GTech Comes Up Trumps!

Need A Great Cordless Lawn Mower? GTech Comes Up Trumps!

I have never been excited about trying out a new lawn mower before, but after using the GTech Falcon cordless, I am very impressed!

By Jan Rosser | 28 Feb 2019

Best Unusual Gardens In Herefordshire? Ralph Court Gardens Takes Some Beating!

Best Unusual Gardens In Herefordshire? Ralph Court Gardens Takes Some Beating!

On Wednesday July 5th 2017, a sunny day dawned and my neighbour Chris and I decided to get away for a few hours. Where to go in Herefordshire that we hadn't been to before?

By Jan Rosser | 25 Jun 2018

Rowlestone Court - A Great Place To Visit In The Welsh Black Mountains

Rowlestone Court - A Great Place To Visit In The Welsh Black Mountains

If you live in or near to the Welsh Black Mountains and are looking for an unusual day out in beautiful countryside, do go and visit Rowlestone!

By Jan Rosser | 30 Jul 2018

Best Unusual Gardens In Herefordshire? Ralph Court Gardens Takes Some Beating!

Best Unusual Gardens In Herefordshire? Ralph Court Gardens Takes Some Beating!

On Wednesday July 5th 2017, a sunny day dawned and my neighbour Chris and I decided to get away for a few hours. Where to go in Herefordshire that we hadn't been to before?

By Jan Rosser | 25 Jun 2018

Not all CBD oils are the same.

We offer a full spectrum, genuine 'golden' CBD oil which has the unwanted plant matter and chlorophyll removed, leaving a better tasting and more effective extract, packed full of active cannabinoids.

We ensure our products have a high CBD content, giving better value for money. Our oil is as close to natural as we can get it and is vegan friendly.

We don't make medical claims but it you're yet to discover CBD then do some research and find out why so many people around the world are turning to it for their wellbeing.

Buy from TheHerbKingdom.com

It's the wedding season again and Cat is looking forward to her big day. But will it all work out?

Buy from Amazon.

Available in great tasting Elderberry or Honey and Lemon flavours.

Directions for use:

Shake before use. Spray into mouth. Use as often as required... Suitable for vegetarian use.

Ingredients:

Water, Glycerine, Aloe Vera, Flavour of choice (Elderberry Juice or Honey* Lemon juice)

Rose Cider Vinegar* and natural flavours* (extracts of liquorice, ginger, sage, thyme, rosehip, elderflower)

*organic ingredients used.

Made in the UK.

Give your voice clarity

Available to buy from Amazon in flavours Elderberry and Honey and Lemon

Amazon review: a wonderful book, full of practical, useful tips.

If you're thinking about doing some creative writing this winter,

our 5* handbook will inspire you and give you confidence.

Available to buy from Amazon