Memories

Reminiscing and reviewing past memories of places, items, people etc

Reviewing Memories Of My Children's Birthday Parties Including An Indoor Picnic In November!!

Reviewing Memories Of My Children's Birthday Parties Including An Indoor Picnic In November!!

On reading about one woman's ridiculously expensive birthday party for her child, I thought back to when my two daughters were young.

By June Tate | 03 Nov 2019

Reviewing The Joys of Childhood Games - Conkers, Leapfrog, Tiddlywinks And Many More!

Reviewing The Joys of Childhood Games - Conkers, Leapfrog, Tiddlywinks And Many More!

I keep thinking about my childhood games and wonder how many of the below ones still being played?

By Jan Rosser | 12 Oct 2019

Forty Years On - Plus!

Forty Years On - Plus!

How many of us, singing that song in school assemblies all those years ago, could imagine ourselves forty years hence, let alone meeting up with our old school mates?

By Anne Harvey | 05 Oct 2019

Cruising - Life Aboard the World Famous Mauritania Ship

Cruising - Life Aboard the World Famous Mauritania Ship

After working on the Queen Mary as a hairdresser for three and a half years, I was transferred to the Mauretania.

By June Tate | 30 Sep 2019

A Life At Sea - Sailing Aboard World Class Ships The Queen Mary and the Queen Elizabeth

A Life At Sea - Sailing Aboard World Class Ships The Queen Mary and the Queen Elizabeth

When I was twenty four, I wanted to get away from home. 

By June Tate | 29 Sep 2019

What Will Become Of Lovely Photos When I Have Gone?

What Will Become Of Lovely Photos When I Have Gone?

On reading the article “The Lost Generation. Is This The End Of The Photo Album? Written  by Di Castle” on The review Spot page on Facebook, I started thinking again about my vast collection of photos. 

By Sheila Khan | 26 Sep 2019

The Lost Generation.  Is This The End Of The Photo Album?

The Lost Generation. Is This The End Of The Photo Album?

When was the last time saw an album of someone’s family photos and, more importantly, when was the last time you looked – yes really looked  – at your own family photographs?  

By Di Castle | 21 Sep 2019

Whatever Happened To Manners And Respecting Your Elders?

Whatever Happened To Manners And Respecting Your Elders?

A crammed car park in the height of summer. We spot an area of scrub at the far end, pull in and park next to a van.

By Di Castle | 12 Sep 2019

Passionate About The Past - Challenging Times In 1962!

Passionate About The Past - Challenging Times In 1962!

By early 1962 when I was 23, I was still single, at a time when if you weren’t at least seriously ‘courting’ or engaged to be married, you were considered to be on the shelf.

 

By Anne Harvey | 06 Sep 2019

Memories Of  Childhood Evacuation In  September 1939 - The Outbreak Of WW2

Memories Of Childhood Evacuation In September 1939 - The Outbreak Of WW2

Between September 1st and September 4th 1939, there were millions of mothers, babies and small children evacuated from their homes in the towns and cities across Britain.

By Jan Rosser | 02 Sep 2019

Film Stars, Hair-Dos And Reminiscences

Film Stars, Hair-Dos And Reminiscences

One of the most interesting aspects of writing about the immediate past has been the research involved, especially the cover. 

By Anne Harvey | 15 Aug 2019

A Youthful Revolution?

A Youthful Revolution?

In preparation for an up-coming author talk, I’ve been giving much thought to that time between 1954 and 1960 when a momentous change seemed to be taking place.

By Anne Harvey | 02 Aug 2019

Going Back To The Sixties And My First Job!

Going Back To The Sixties And My First Job!

So the question was what was the first job we had?

By Di Castle | 27 Jul 2019

Reviewing My Childhood Seaside Holidays In The 60's. - The UK And Abroad

Reviewing My Childhood Seaside Holidays In The 60's. - The UK And Abroad

It's been a busy week, but most of it taken up with writing and usual tasks. I don’t know why, but last night I was thinking about my seaside holidays when I was a child! 

By Jan Rosser | 18 Jun 2019

A Frightening Wake Up Call! We Mustn't Lose Our NHS!

A Frightening Wake Up Call! We Mustn't Lose Our NHS!

International Nurses Day was on May 12th this year and an article from my good friend Yvonne Probert reminds us of how valuable they ALL are!

By Jan Rosser | 12 May 2019

Reviewing Biker Babe Linda Loves A Norton!

Reviewing Biker Babe Linda Loves A Norton!

Linda Mitchelmore has updated this article she wrote for me a while ago and sent me the revised text below. I hope you enjoy reading!

By Jan Rosser | 03 Mar 2019

Reminiscing About Coal!

Reminiscing About Coal!

Remember Coal?  Lumps of black stuff which miraculously burst into flames when heat was applied to it.

By Douglas J Lindsay | 22 Dec 2018

A Review Of Nostalgic Road Trip With My New Car - A Story About Growing Up!

A Review Of Nostalgic Road Trip With My New Car - A Story About Growing Up!

Age 17 years, two months, three days and my first car had been bought and delivered. 

By Jan Rosser | 02 Dec 2018

Herb Kingdom

Not all CBD oils are the same.

We offer a full spectrum, genuine 'golden' CBD oil which has the unwanted plant matter and chlorophyll removed, leaving a better tasting and more effective extract, packed full of active cannabinoids.

We ensure our products have a high CBD content, giving better value for money. Our oil is as close to natural as we can get it and is vegan friendly.

We don't make medical claims but if you're yet to discover CBD then do some research and find out why so many people around the world are turning to it for their wellbeing.

Buy from TheHerbKingdom.com

Undercover

Readers may be interested to learn Stephen Bentley's

Undercover book

is now available in large print.

This is a boon to us 'with visual issues.' 

Available to buy from Amazon

Clarity Voice Spray

Available in great tasting Elderberry or Honey and Lemon flavours.

Directions for use:

Shake before use. Spray into mouth. Use as often as required... Suitable for vegetarian use.

Ingredients:

Water, Glycerine, Aloe Vera, Flavour of choice (Elderberry Juice or Honey* Lemon juice)

Rose Cider Vinegar* and natural flavours* (extracts of liquorice, ginger, sage, thyme, rosehip, elderflower)

*organic ingredients used.

Made in the UK.

Give your voice clarity

Available to buy from Amazon in flavours Elderberry and Honey and Lemon

Creative Writing Student Handbook - Margaret James

Amazon review: a wonderful book, full of practical, useful tips.

If you're thinking about doing some creative writing this winter,

our 5* handbook will inspire you and give you confidence.

Available to buy from Amazon