A Review Of Nostalgic Road Trip With My New Car - A Story About Growing Up!

Written by Jan Rosser in Memories on 02 Dec 2018 | Views: 260

A Review Of Nostalgic Road Trip With My New Car - A Story About Growing Up!

Age 17 years, two months, three days and my first car had been bought and delivered. 

A Ford Prefect, green, two doors, three gears and I drove it to Newquay with my best friend. A seven hour journey with no motorways. After checking the oil, the tyres, the break fluid and having a full tank of petrol, I bid goodbye to my anxious mum and set off on my own feeling VERY grown up indeed!

My friend came rushing out of her house and threw her suitcase on the back seat, nearly sending the radio speakers flying. Radio 1 was blaring forth. Noel Edmunds playing the chart countdown for the week beginning June 12 1972. We were so happy and started taking bets on who was going to be number 1. Then we started chattering about how we were going to meet some surfers who would be handsome and carefree and take us for (albeit illegal) drinks at the local seaside bars!

We had been driving for four hours and were just leaving Exeter in Devon when suddenly the car started to slow down, and we heard a snap and came to a grinding halt

Amazingly there was no car behind us, so nobody ran into the back of my beloved first car. We looked at each other and our grins turned to a look of fear. Coming along the road were a couple of male hitchhikers dressed as nurses! One of the lads came over and asked us if we were ok. We looked on helplessly, suddenly feeling very vulnerable." Open up the bonnet love, and let me look inside"." I'm Jules by the way and this is Andy"."Your fan belt's buggered, you aren't going anywhere fast". Andy said, "I can get round that problem "and proceeded to take off a stocking he was wearing!

My friend and I blushed furiously but the lads found it very funny. Jules did his repair job on the fan belt with a stocking and told me to start the engine. Hey presto, it worked!

They then asked if they could hitch a lift. They were going to a charity do in Newquay and needed to be there for 6pm, hence the nurses outfits. We were staying in Newquay too, so they squashed themselves in the back and we were all ready to go again. My Ford Prefect finally got us all to Newquay at. 5.30 pm, seven hours after setting out from Hereford. We had a fantastic week and went out with Jules and Andy most days and evenings.

We stayed friends with them for many years until they both emigrated to Australia with their families

When I look back to 1972, I drove a car the day after I passed my driving test, I gave a lift to two hitch hikers who I didn't know, I had a great time and was never under any pressure to consent to anything. Forty three years on, would I do these same things again? I would like to think I would and more to the point, that I could.

I still believe most people are good, not bad and it is safe out there in our big wide world. Not sure about the Ford Prefect though, maybe a Volkswagen Golf these days!!

Support Reviewspot by browsing the products below

Tags

Like this post? Share it with your friends

Related Articles

Charity Gifts At Christmas - The Good Gifts Website Have Some Great Ideas!

Charity Gifts At Christmas - The Good Gifts Website Have Some Great Ideas!

Are you often stumped when buying Christmas presents for people who really really do not want any more 'clutter' or socks, shower gel or scented candles?

By Jan Rosser | 14 Nov 2020

Congratulations To All The Kids Who Were Born In The 1940's, 50's, 60's, 70's and 80's !!

Congratulations To All The Kids Who Were Born In The 1940's, 50's, 60's, 70's and 80's !!

I have been given permission to publish this article written by Frank Shenton. Makes interesting reading!

By Jan Rosser | 10 Dec 2020

Coming Out Of Lockdown

Coming Out Of Lockdown

So, for over three months now we have been in lockdown, not daring to re-join that dangerous world out there. 

By Cheryl Lang | 20 Jun 2020

Amazing Facts - True Or False?? Part 1

Amazing Facts - True Or False?? Part 1

I have chosen 60 'statements' from Amazing Facts, a quiz I was given last Christmas. 

By Jan Rosser | 18 Jun 2020

Can Dieting And Exercise Ever Be Pleasurable?

Can Dieting And Exercise Ever Be Pleasurable?

Most of us underestimate how many calories a day we actually consume. 

By Jan Rosser | 17 Sep 2020

The Little B&B At Cove End

The Little B&B At Cove End

‘Write what you know’ is one of the bits of writing advice oft-quoted to wannabe novelists. So … The Little B&B at Cove End?

By Linda Mitchelmore | 22 Sep 2019

Congratulations To All The Kids Who Were Born In The 1940's, 50's, 60's, 70's and 80's !!

Congratulations To All The Kids Who Were Born In The 1940's, 50's, 60's, 70's and 80's !!

I have been given permission to publish this article written by Frank Shenton. Makes interesting reading!

By Jan Rosser | 10 Dec 2020

Revisiting Some Childhood Books

Revisiting Some Childhood Books

I was visiting a friend one day this week and she was looking after her grandson.

By Jan Rosser | 26 Jan 2019

A Poem For World Mental Health

A Poem For World Mental Health

A ReviewSpot member has written this moving poem for dealing with mental health and wishes to remain anonymous.  

By Jan Rosser | 20 Nov 2020

My Review Of Emmet And Me By Sara Gethin

My Review Of Emmet And Me By Sara Gethin

I have been sent the latest novel by Sara Gethin to read and review and what a moving and powerful one it is.

By Jan Rosser | 13 Jun 2021

Readers Reviews Of Urbane Publications Part 3

Readers Reviews Of Urbane Publications Part 3

I am delighted to be publishing Part 3 of readers reviews of Urbane books. My thanks to Matthew for donating the books.

By Jan Rosser | 09 Nov 2018

Letters Of Wishes - Not Legally Binding, But Very Useful - JC Independent Wills And Probate

Letters Of Wishes - Not Legally Binding, But Very Useful - JC Independent Wills And Probate

Sometimes they're called Letters of Wishes, Side Letters or Expression of Wishes. 

By Jan Rosser | 10 Sep 2020

Exercising - Can Walking Be Beaten For Well Being?

Exercising - Can Walking Be Beaten For Well Being?

As we move nearer to Spring - (hopefully!), outdoor exercise becomes more popular.

By Jan Rosser | 05 Feb 2020

A Good Friend Reviews Tiger Gin!

A Good Friend Reviews Tiger Gin!

Are you a Gin lover? Maybe you have heard of the award winning Tiger Gin? 

By Jan Rosser | 14 Feb 2019

Interviewing Ralph Mctell, Singer Songwriter Extraordinaire Part 3

Interviewing Ralph Mctell, Singer Songwriter Extraordinaire Part 3

The fifties were coming to an end and music was really starting to take off on all levels.

By Jan Rosser | 24 Jul 2020

All Kinds Of Soap!

All Kinds Of Soap!

Are you particular about the type of soap you buy? So many different brands and products out there.

By Jan Rosser | 03 Oct 2020

The Singer Not The Song

The Singer Not The Song

Throughout my long life, I’ve been lucky to see many singers in person, starting way back in the 1950s when post-war austerity was still being felt throughout the country.

By Anne Harvey | 02 May 2020

Readers Reviews Of Victory For The Bluebird Girls by Rosie Archer

Readers Reviews Of Victory For The Bluebird Girls by Rosie Archer

I am delighted to be featuring readers reviews of the fourth book in this series.

By Jan Rosser | 29 Oct 2020

My Review And Q And A With The Upbeat Beatles

My Review And Q And A With The Upbeat Beatles

I went to see The Upbeat Beatles at The Courtyard in Hereford on 31st October 2019. What a show!

By Jan Rosser | 07 Nov 2019

Reviewing My Childhood Seaside Holidays In The 60's. - The UK And Abroad

Reviewing My Childhood Seaside Holidays In The 60's. - The UK And Abroad

It's been a busy week, but most of it taken up with writing and usual tasks. I don’t know why, but last night I was thinking about my seaside holidays when I was a child! 

By Jan Rosser | 17 Jun 2019

The Lost Generation.  Is This The End Of The Photo Album?

The Lost Generation. Is This The End Of The Photo Album?

When was the last time saw an album of someone’s family photos and, more importantly, when was the last time you looked – yes really looked  – at your own family photographs?  

By Di Castle | 21 Sep 2019

Benefits of Walking for Health, Stress Busting and Fresh Air!

Benefits of Walking for Health, Stress Busting and Fresh Air!

Being a regular runner, I'm used to being active. So you can imagine my horror when a recent fall resulted in a swollen and painful ankle.

By Kelly Florentia | 14 Mar 2020

It's Never Too Late To Start Learning A New Musical Instrument!

It's Never Too Late To Start Learning A New Musical Instrument!

How are we all surviving the lockdown?  Taking up a new hobby?

By Jan Rosser | 23 Apr 2020

A Diary Of My Travels From The Quokkas Perspective Day 2

A Diary Of My Travels From The Quokkas Perspective Day 2

After a good nights sleep, it was up, breakfast and out.

By Adrienne Laverick | 16 Apr 2020

Interviewing Ralph Mctell, Singer Songwriter Extraordinaire Part 2

Interviewing Ralph Mctell, Singer Songwriter Extraordinaire Part 2

I asked Ralph when did he realise that he wanted to be a full time musician and he told me that you just don't dare believe it can happen.

By Jan Rosser | 17 Jul 2020

Chickens And A Man-Eating Rabbit. Or How My Mother Fed A Family Of Six When Food Was Still On Ration

Chickens And A Man-Eating Rabbit. Or How My Mother Fed A Family Of Six When Food Was Still On Ration

I rolled up my sleeves, screwed up my eyes and stretched my arm into the cupboard under the stairs. 

By Kay Seeley | 25 Sep 2020

Readers Reviews Of A Ration Book Daughter By Jean Fullerton

Readers Reviews Of A Ration Book Daughter By Jean Fullerton

I am delighted to be featuring Jean Fullerton on the website once more with a selection of 15 reviews for her new novel, A Ration Book Daughter.

By Jan Rosser | 07 May 2021

Readers Reviews Of  A Ration Book Wedding By Jean Fullerton

Readers Reviews Of A Ration Book Wedding By Jean Fullerton

I am delighted to be featuring readers reviews of Jean Fullerton's latest novel.

By Jan Rosser | 13 May 2020

How To Help Your Child With Reading

How To Help Your Child With Reading

As a Dyslexia tutor and someone who regularly assessed students in Further and Higher  Education for examination arrangements, I am often asked what parents can do to help their child with reading

By Di Castle | 06 Oct 2019

Reviewing The Exmouth Floods In 1960

Reviewing The Exmouth Floods In 1960

I was 14 yrs old in 1960. Our family were living in Exmouth, Devon & had just moved into a house in Park Road.

By Rosemary Ann Smith | 27 Nov 2019

Readers Reviews Of The Little B&B At Cove End By Linda Mitchelmore

Readers Reviews Of The Little B&B At Cove End By Linda Mitchelmore

Harper Collins have very kindly sent out Spiral Bound copies of this novel and I am delighted to share readers reviews below.

By Jan Rosser | 19 Oct 2019

Remembering The Big Freeze - Winter 1962/3 Where Were You When It Happened?

Remembering The Big Freeze - Winter 1962/3 Where Were You When It Happened?

It has been a tad chilly these last few days and nights after our mostly mild November.

By Jan Rosser | 07 Dec 2019

Readers Reviews Of The Ferryman's Daughter By Juliet Greenwood

Readers Reviews Of The Ferryman's Daughter By Juliet Greenwood

I am delighted to share readers reviews of The Ferryman's Daughter by Juliet Greenwood.

By Jan Rosser | 29 Jul 2020

It's Never Too Late To Start Learning A New Musical Instrument!

It's Never Too Late To Start Learning A New Musical Instrument!

How are we all surviving the lockdown?  Taking up a new hobby?

By Jan Rosser | 23 Apr 2020

Come On Board My New QuizSpot Website!

Come On Board My New QuizSpot Website!

I launched my new quiz website on January 1st. Would love you to come on board!

By Jan Rosser | 01 Jan 2021

Readers Reviews Of The Final Reckoning By Margaret James

Readers Reviews Of The Final Reckoning By Margaret James

Novelist Margaret James has a new thriller out which was published by Ruby Fiction on January 22nd 2019. 

By Jan Rosser | 24 Jan 2019

A Life At Sea - Sailing Aboard World Class Ships The Queen Mary and the Queen Elizabeth

A Life At Sea - Sailing Aboard World Class Ships The Queen Mary and the Queen Elizabeth

When I was twenty four, I wanted to get away from home. 

By June Tate | 29 Sep 2019

Journey to Pandemonium

Journey to Pandemonium

When I set out in 2009 to become a novelist, I never imagined I would also have a children’s picture book published.

By Gail Aldwin | 26 Nov 2020

Taking The Old - Time Tram

Taking The Old - Time Tram

Do you remember taking the tram to school?  

By Douglas J Lindsay | 20 Feb 2020

Readers Reviews Of Dr Dan's Casebook By Laurie Graham

Readers Reviews Of Dr Dan's Casebook By Laurie Graham

I am delighted to be featuring the latest book by Laurie Graham. See reviews below .

By Jan Rosser | 27 Jan 2020

Christmas Capers (Adventures of L-Plate Gran)

Christmas Capers (Adventures of L-Plate Gran)

It has been some time since I wrote about Little G and Small.

By Carol Hedges | 04 Dec 2019

Forty Years On - Plus!

Forty Years On - Plus!

How many of us, singing that song in school assemblies all those years ago, could imagine ourselves forty years hence, let alone meeting up with our old school mates?

By Anne Harvey | 05 Oct 2019

My Interview With Paul Metcalfe - Some Guys Have All The Luck!

My Interview With Paul Metcalfe - Some Guys Have All The Luck!

Paul Metcalfe is currently on tour performing 'Some Guys Have All The Luck' as Rod Stewart with his band. 

By Jan Rosser | 06 Oct 2018

Reviewing Some Local Playgrounds - Why Are They Almost Always Empty?

Reviewing Some Local Playgrounds - Why Are They Almost Always Empty?

It is mid January and the weather is very mixed. 

By Jan Rosser | 16 Jan 2020

Readers Reviews Of Akea His Mother's Son By Elizabeth Jade

Readers Reviews Of Akea His Mother's Son By Elizabeth Jade

Readers reviews of the super Akea His Mother's Son are now here to share with us all.

By Jan Rosser | 11 Jan 2020

A Long Haul, A Lost Page, Frustration And A Bookmark Is Born!

A Long Haul, A Lost Page, Frustration And A Bookmark Is Born!

Finding ex pat groups to join was a priority when I landed in Hong Kong in 1998. 

By Adrienne Laverick | 21 Nov 2020

Readers Reviews Of The Ferryman's Daughter By Juliet Greenwood

Readers Reviews Of The Ferryman's Daughter By Juliet Greenwood

I am delighted to share readers reviews of The Ferryman's Daughter by Juliet Greenwood.

By Jan Rosser | 29 Jul 2020

Film Stars, Hair-Dos And Reminiscences

Film Stars, Hair-Dos And Reminiscences

One of the most interesting aspects of writing about the immediate past has been the research involved, especially the cover. 

By Anne Harvey | 15 Aug 2019

Socialising Whilst Saving Money!

Socialising Whilst Saving Money!

Do you often wish you could go out more, but everywhere is so expensive? You may be surprised to find that with a little bit of planning, a good time can be had by all!

By Jan Rosser | 13 Mar 2020

Zealous, Truly Man's Best Friend - Life As A Police Dog Handler In The R A F

Zealous, Truly Man's Best Friend - Life As A Police Dog Handler In The R A F

Derek Coles reviews his memories of R A F Police days and dictated the following article to me.

By Jan Rosser | 02 Jan 2020

Eve's Pudding - A British World War One Recipe

Eve's Pudding - A British World War One Recipe

Here is another recipe from good friend Juliet Greenwood.

 

 

By Jan Rosser | 27 Nov 2020

Reviewing Memories Of My Children's Birthday Parties Including An Indoor Picnic In November!!

Reviewing Memories Of My Children's Birthday Parties Including An Indoor Picnic In November!!

On reading about one woman's ridiculously expensive birthday party for her child, I thought back to when my two daughters were young.

By June Tate | 03 Nov 2019

Reviewing The Joys of Childhood Games - Conkers, Leapfrog, Tiddlywinks And Many More!

Reviewing The Joys of Childhood Games - Conkers, Leapfrog, Tiddlywinks And Many More!

I keep thinking about my childhood games and wonder how many of the below ones still being played?

By Jan Rosser | 12 Oct 2019

Readers Reviews Of Wren Jane Beacon On The Cut By D J Lindsay

Readers Reviews Of Wren Jane Beacon On The Cut By D J Lindsay

D J Lindsay very kindly sent out copies of his latest book and I now have the reviews back to share with you all.

By Jan Rosser | 28 Nov 2019

A Youthful Revolution?

A Youthful Revolution?

In preparation for an up-coming author talk, I’ve been giving much thought to that time between 1954 and 1960 when a momentous change seemed to be taking place.

By Anne Harvey | 02 Aug 2019

Readers Reviews Of The Bobby Girls By Johanna Bell

Readers Reviews Of The Bobby Girls By Johanna Bell

My reviewers have been reading their copies of The Bobby Girls by Johanna Bell

By Jan Rosser | 05 Dec 2019

Readers Reviews Of The Bobby Girls' Secrets By Johanna Bell

Readers Reviews Of The Bobby Girls' Secrets By Johanna Bell

I am delighted to share readers reviews of this super book.

By Jan Rosser | 08 Jun 2020

Cruising - Life Aboard the World Famous Mauritania Ship

Cruising - Life Aboard the World Famous Mauritania Ship

After working on the Queen Mary as a hairdresser for three and a half years, I was transferred to the Mauretania.

By June Tate | 30 Sep 2019

Why looking After Your teeth Is More Important The Older You Get

Why looking After Your teeth Is More Important The Older You Get

Nicole Addy from My Dentist the largest provider of NHS dentistry in the UK, explains how your mouth changes over time and how you can make your teeth last a lifetime.

By Jan Rosser | 26 Oct 2020

A Youthful Revolution?

A Youthful Revolution?

In preparation for an up-coming author talk, I’ve been giving much thought to that time between 1954 and 1960 when a momentous change seemed to be taking place.

By Anne Harvey | 02 Aug 2019

Walking For Health - Discussing The Benefits Of A Daily Stroll

Walking For Health - Discussing The Benefits Of A Daily Stroll

The Walking for Health Scheme was the brainchild of Doctor Bird who was a GP in Berkshire. He felt strongly that so many of his patients could enjoy better health if only they took more exercise.

By Kelly Florentia | 26 Mar 2020

Reviewing Some Local Playgrounds - Why Are They Almost Always Empty?

Reviewing Some Local Playgrounds - Why Are They Almost Always Empty?

It is mid January and the weather is very mixed. 

By Jan Rosser | 16 Jan 2020

Synopsis Of Notes From The Lost by  Cathie Hartigan

Synopsis Of Notes From The Lost by Cathie Hartigan

Isn't it amazing what can happen as the result of a chance conversation? 

By Cathie Hartigan | 24 Nov 2019

Reviewing Biker Babe Linda Loves A Norton!

Reviewing Biker Babe Linda Loves A Norton!

Linda Mitchelmore has updated this article she wrote for me a while ago and sent me the revised text below. I hope you enjoy reading!

By Jan Rosser | 03 Mar 2019

Readers Reviews Of Penhaligon's Gift By Terri Nixon

Readers Reviews Of Penhaligon's Gift By Terri Nixon

I am delighted to be sharing readers reviews of Terri Nixon's latest novel. My thanks to Sophia of Piatkus Fiction for donating copies.

By Jan Rosser | 27 Dec 2018

Synopsis And Readers Reviews Of A Long Dark Rainbow By Michael Tappenden

Synopsis And Readers Reviews Of A Long Dark Rainbow By Michael Tappenden

Philippa Iliffe of The Book Guild Ltd very kindly sent out copies of The Long Dark Rainbow to reviewers. Author Michael Tappenden starts off with a synopsis.

By Jan Rosser | 02 Nov 2019

Interviewing Ralph McTell, Singer Songwriter Extraordinaire Part 4

Interviewing Ralph McTell, Singer Songwriter Extraordinaire Part 4

Over the years I have seen Ralph McTell perform many times and each time, there always seems to be a new selection of wonderful guitars.

By Jan Rosser | 31 Jul 2020

Christmas Capers (Adventures of L-Plate Gran)

Christmas Capers (Adventures of L-Plate Gran)

It has been some time since I wrote about Little G and Small.

By Carol Hedges | 04 Dec 2019

The Singer Not The Song

The Singer Not The Song

Throughout my long life, I’ve been lucky to see many singers in person, starting way back in the 1950s when post-war austerity was still being felt throughout the country.

By Anne Harvey | 02 May 2020

A Diary Of My Travels From The Quokkas Perspective Day 3

A Diary Of My Travels From The Quokkas Perspective Day 3

After a wonderful evening, beautiful sunset and we had good nights rest.

By Adrienne Laverick | 19 Apr 2020

Turbulent Times And Seeking The Safe And Secure

Turbulent Times And Seeking The Safe And Secure

What strange times we’re living through! 

By Anne Harvey | 12 Sep 2020

Readers Reviews Of The Matchgirl By Lynette Rees

Readers Reviews Of The Matchgirl By Lynette Rees

My thanks to Ella Patell, Quercus Books for donating copies of The Matchgirl. Readers reviews are now in.

By Jan Rosser | 14 Oct 2019

The Bridges Of Madison County

The Bridges Of Madison County

I've always been an avid reader, and in 1995 read a book, totally different to my normal reading material, titled The Bridges of Madison County by Robert James Waller.

By Rosemary Ann Smith | 22 Aug 2020

Zealous, Truly Man's Best Friend - Life As A Police Dog Handler In The R A F

Zealous, Truly Man's Best Friend - Life As A Police Dog Handler In The R A F

Derek Coles reviews his memories of R A F Police days and dictated the following article to me.

By Jan Rosser | 02 Jan 2020

Eternity Leave By Simon Kettlewell

Eternity Leave By Simon Kettlewell

‘This year’s must read. Poignant and very very funny!!! (The Review)

By Simon Kettlewell | 11 Feb 2021

Murder At The Mill By Trevor Belshaw

Murder At The Mill By Trevor Belshaw

My new novel, Murder at the Mill is now available in Kindle and paperback from Amazon and will very shortly be available in paperback on a worldwide, free shipping basis from the Book Depository.

By Trevor Belshaw | 02 Dec 2020

Readers Reviews Of The Forces Sweetheart By Rosie Archer

Readers Reviews Of The Forces Sweetheart By Rosie Archer

I am delighted to share readers reviews of Rosie Archer's latest novel.

By Jan Rosser | 10 Aug 2020

My Review Of Killerton Estate, Broadclyst, Near Exeter, Devon

My Review Of Killerton Estate, Broadclyst, Near Exeter, Devon

Apart from the large house at Killerton, there are 3 very interesting old buildings on this vast estate, and Ashclyst Forest. All the properties owned by the estate are painted in a mustard colour.

By Rosemary Ann Smith | 09 Jun 2018

Washday

Washday

When our kitchens are full of shiny white goods taking much of the labour out of domestic chores, it is easy to forget how recently most of those chores were done by hand.

By Douglas J Lindsay | 23 Feb 2020

Congratulations To All The Kids Who Were Born In The 1940's, 50's, 60's, 70's and 80's !!

Congratulations To All The Kids Who Were Born In The 1940's, 50's, 60's, 70's and 80's !!

I have been given permission to publish this article written by Frank Shenton. Makes interesting reading!

By Jan Rosser | 10 Dec 2020

Fabulous Desk Friend Fan Heater From Dimplex Complete With USB Charging Port!

Fabulous Desk Friend Fan Heater From Dimplex Complete With USB Charging Port!

I have owned many fan heaters over the years. Most have been standard on/off cool/hot switches and nothing really special to look at.

By Jan Rosser | 01 Jun 2018

Interviewing Ralph McTell, Singer Songwriter Extraordinaire Part 4

Interviewing Ralph McTell, Singer Songwriter Extraordinaire Part 4

Over the years I have seen Ralph McTell perform many times and each time, there always seems to be a new selection of wonderful guitars.

By Jan Rosser | 31 Jul 2020

Readers Reviews Of WHERE THE BULBUL SINGS By Serena Fairfax

Readers Reviews Of WHERE THE BULBUL SINGS By Serena Fairfax

My team of reviewers have been sent copies of WHERE THE BULBUL SINGS and here are their reviews to share with you all.

By Jan Rosser | 02 Feb 2020

Reviewing The Exmouth Floods In 1960

Reviewing The Exmouth Floods In 1960

I was 14 yrs old in 1960. Our family were living in Exmouth, Devon & had just moved into a house in Park Road.

By Rosemary Ann Smith | 27 Nov 2019

It's Never Too Late To Start Learning A New Musical Instrument!

It's Never Too Late To Start Learning A New Musical Instrument!

How are we all surviving the lockdown?  Taking up a new hobby?

By Jan Rosser | 23 Apr 2020

Reviewing The Joys of Childhood Games - Conkers, Leapfrog, Tiddlywinks And Many More!

Reviewing The Joys of Childhood Games - Conkers, Leapfrog, Tiddlywinks And Many More!

I keep thinking about my childhood games and wonder how many of the below ones still being played?

By Jan Rosser | 12 Oct 2019

A Short Walk And A Picnic

A Short Walk And A Picnic

'Sunshine will help. So said my GP. Sunshine AND a picnic, even better!'

By Jan Rosser | 08 Aug 2020

Sharing Our Christmas Trees!

Sharing Our Christmas Trees!

Christmas Day is nearly upon us. Thank you so much for sharing photos of your Christmas trees!

By Jan Rosser | 21 Dec 2019

Navy Blue Knickers, Gym Slips and School Dinners - A Review Of My Grammar School

Navy Blue Knickers, Gym Slips and School Dinners - A Review Of My Grammar School

It’s been a while since I posted a memoir-based blog (apart from last month’s ‘Stranded in New York City’), the last one being ‘Four Schools in One Term.’ 

By Anne Harvey | 21 Nov 2018

Chickens And A Man-Eating Rabbit. Or How My Mother Fed A Family Of Six When Food Was Still On Ration

Chickens And A Man-Eating Rabbit. Or How My Mother Fed A Family Of Six When Food Was Still On Ration

I rolled up my sleeves, screwed up my eyes and stretched my arm into the cupboard under the stairs. 

By Kay Seeley | 25 Sep 2020

Thai Fish Soup

Thai Fish Soup

As a lover of home made soups, I can thoroughly recommend this delicious Thai fish soup, a winter warmer and so delicious and easy to make, in just 3 steps!

By Adrienne Laverick | 26 Nov 2020

Rationing

Rationing

It was one of the ironies of winning the Second World War that, from about 1948 onwards, Britain was actually worse off than the Continental countries it had defeated or liberated.

By Douglas J Lindsay | 21 Feb 2020

Passionate About The Past - Challenging Times In 1962!

Passionate About The Past - Challenging Times In 1962!

By early 1962 when I was 23, I was still single, at a time when if you weren’t at least seriously ‘courting’ or engaged to be married, you were considered to be on the shelf.

 

By Anne Harvey | 06 Sep 2019

Exercising - Can Walking Be Beaten For Well Being?

Exercising - Can Walking Be Beaten For Well Being?

As we move nearer to Spring - (hopefully!), outdoor exercise becomes more popular.

By Jan Rosser | 05 Feb 2020

Remembering The Big Freeze - Winter 1962/3 Where Were You When It Happened?

Remembering The Big Freeze - Winter 1962/3 Where Were You When It Happened?

It has been a tad chilly these last few days and nights after our mostly mild November.

By Jan Rosser | 07 Dec 2019

Remembering The Big Freeze - Winter 1962/3 Where Were You When It Happened?

Remembering The Big Freeze - Winter 1962/3 Where Were You When It Happened?

It has been a tad chilly these last few days and nights after our mostly mild November.

By Jan Rosser | 07 Dec 2019

My Review Of Summer At 23 The Strand By Linda Mitchelmore

My Review Of Summer At 23 The Strand By Linda Mitchelmore

What happens when Martha, Cally, Arthur, Lucy, Ana, Stella and several more holidaymakers, who all have issues to resolve, spend a fortnight in a chalet in a Devon seaside town? 

By Margaret James | 23 Jun 2018

Readers Reviews Of A Ration Book Daughter By Jean Fullerton

Readers Reviews Of A Ration Book Daughter By Jean Fullerton

I am delighted to be featuring Jean Fullerton on the website once more with a selection of 15 reviews for her new novel, A Ration Book Daughter.

By Jan Rosser | 07 May 2021

Is Bartering Still Popular In The 21st Century?

Is Bartering Still Popular In The 21st Century?

I have been having a bit of a de-clutter this week and like many of us, I have new  or nearly new items that I have bought over the years which I have  hardly or never used. 

By Jan Rosser | 30 Dec 2018

How 5 Albums Can Inspire Your Love Of Music

How 5 Albums Can Inspire Your Love Of Music

We are experiencing challenging times and thank goodness for music to help us through the days.

By Jan Rosser | 28 Mar 2020

The Joy of Buses

The Joy of Buses

I have written several pieces about the Joy of Buses.

By Carol Hedges | 22 Jan 2020

Reviewing Memories Of My Children's Birthday Parties Including An Indoor Picnic In November!!

Reviewing Memories Of My Children's Birthday Parties Including An Indoor Picnic In November!!

On reading about one woman's ridiculously expensive birthday party for her child, I thought back to when my two daughters were young.

By June Tate | 03 Nov 2019

Eternity Leave By Simon Kettlewell

Eternity Leave By Simon Kettlewell

‘This year’s must read. Poignant and very very funny!!! (The Review)

By Simon Kettlewell | 11 Feb 2021

Now Where Did I Put My List???

Now Where Did I Put My List???

I was thinking yesterday about all the post it notes I have scattered around my house in order to remember things I have to do. 

By Jan Rosser | 25 Jun 2020

A Diary Of My Travels From The Quokkas Perspective Day 8

A Diary Of My Travels From The Quokkas Perspective Day 8

Today was going to be a wonderful lunch cruise from Circular Quay in Sydney Harbour,

By Adrienne Laverick | 08 May 2020

Readers Reviews Of Fabulous Books From Urbane Publications Part 2

Readers Reviews Of Fabulous Books From Urbane Publications Part 2

Following on from the very popular first article of authors publications, here are some more great readers reviews.

By Jan Rosser | 24 Aug 2018

Whatever Happened To Manners And Respecting Your Elders?

Whatever Happened To Manners And Respecting Your Elders?

A crammed car park in the height of summer. We spot an area of scrub at the far end, pull in and park next to a van.

By Di Castle | 12 Sep 2019

Now Where Did I Put My List???

Now Where Did I Put My List???

I was thinking yesterday about all the post it notes I have scattered around my house in order to remember things I have to do. 

By Jan Rosser | 25 Jun 2020

Reviewing Some Local Playgrounds - Why Are They Almost Always Empty?

Reviewing Some Local Playgrounds - Why Are They Almost Always Empty?

It is mid January and the weather is very mixed. 

By Jan Rosser | 16 Jan 2020

Reviewing Biker Babe Linda Loves A Norton!

Reviewing Biker Babe Linda Loves A Norton!

Linda Mitchelmore has updated this article she wrote for me a while ago and sent me the revised text below. I hope you enjoy reading!

By Jan Rosser | 03 Mar 2019

Remembering The Big Freeze - Winter 1962/3 Where Were You When It Happened?

Remembering The Big Freeze - Winter 1962/3 Where Were You When It Happened?

It has been a tad chilly these last few days and nights after our mostly mild November.

By Jan Rosser | 07 Dec 2019

Looking After Loved Ones In The Festive Period - The Meaning Of Christmas

Looking After Loved Ones In The Festive Period - The Meaning Of Christmas

Christmas, what does it mean to you? To some it is a religious festival and celebration of the birth of the Christ child.

By Anne Elizabeth Jones | 16 Dec 2019

Adding Crabbies Alcoholic Ginger Beer Makes For Super Tasting Fish And Chips!

Adding Crabbies Alcoholic Ginger Beer Makes For Super Tasting Fish And Chips!

We all love fish and chips I am sure, but how about including Crabbies Alcoholic Ginger Beer in the batter?

By Jan Rosser | 21 Dec 2020

Test Driving Best New Mini Clubman Since 1969 - Read My Evaluation!

Test Driving Best New Mini Clubman Since 1969 - Read My Evaluation!

The word 'mini' conjours up many things, miniskirt, minimalist, minicabs, minibus, etc etc and today Mini Clubman!

By Jan Rosser | 27 Apr 2018

Unspoken By Trevor Belshaw

Unspoken By Trevor Belshaw

A dramatic family saga, Unspoken is a tale of secrets, love, betrayal and revenge.

By Trevor Belshaw | 26 Jul 2020

A Birthday Treat Visit To Llangrannog!

A Birthday Treat Visit To Llangrannog!

Where would you like to go for your birthday said Derek? Somewhere I’ve not been to before was my reply. So……

By Jan Rosser | 07 Mar 2020

The Lost Generation.  Is This The End Of The Photo Album?

The Lost Generation. Is This The End Of The Photo Album?

When was the last time saw an album of someone’s family photos and, more importantly, when was the last time you looked – yes really looked  – at your own family photographs?  

By Di Castle | 21 Sep 2019

My Choice Of Desert Island Discs

My Choice Of Desert Island Discs

I have listened to Desert Island Discs since I was a teenager. How hard it is to choose 8 discs to take to a desert island!

By Jan Rosser | 05 Apr 2020

Readers Reviews Of The Little B&B At Cove End By Linda Mitchelmore

Readers Reviews Of The Little B&B At Cove End By Linda Mitchelmore

Harper Collins have very kindly sent out Spiral Bound copies of this novel and I am delighted to share readers reviews below.

By Jan Rosser | 19 Oct 2019

A Diary Of My Travels From The Quokkas Perspective Day 7

A Diary Of My Travels From The Quokkas Perspective Day 7

Today, they weren't sure if the bridge climb was going to happen, as it all depended on the outcome from the fires that were burning on the outskirts of Sydney.

By Adrienne Laverick | 04 May 2020

Now Where Did I Put My List???

Now Where Did I Put My List???

I was thinking yesterday about all the post it notes I have scattered around my house in order to remember things I have to do. 

By Jan Rosser | 25 Jun 2020

My Choice Of Desert Island Discs

My Choice Of Desert Island Discs

I have listened to Desert Island Discs since I was a teenager. How hard it is to choose 8 discs to take to a desert island!

By Jan Rosser | 05 Apr 2020

Readers reviews Of We'll Meet Again By Rosie Archer

Readers reviews Of We'll Meet Again By Rosie Archer

I am delighted to be sharing readers reviews of Rosie Archer's latest novel. My thanks to Ella at Quercus.

By Jan Rosser | 16 Sep 2019

Readers Reviews Of Mango Bay By Serena Fairfax

Readers Reviews Of Mango Bay By Serena Fairfax

I am delighted to share readers reviews of Serena Fairfax latest novel Mango Bay.

By Jan Rosser | 04 Nov 2020

My Choice Of Desert Island Discs

My Choice Of Desert Island Discs

I have listened to Desert Island Discs since I was a teenager. How hard it is to choose 8 discs to take to a desert island!

By Jan Rosser | 05 Apr 2020

What Are Bus Services Like Where You Live?

What Are Bus Services Like Where You Live?

Public Transport is often on the news these days and not everyone has good access to many forms of it!

By Jan Rosser | 12 Feb 2020

More Mill Days Memories - And Friendship

More Mill Days Memories - And Friendship

In the past, I’ve blogged about my time working in the mill during the 1950s.

By Anne Harvey | 09 Jan 2020

More Mill Days Memories - And Friendship

More Mill Days Memories - And Friendship

In the past, I’ve blogged about my time working in the mill during the 1950s.

By Anne Harvey | 09 Jan 2020

War Time Experiences Of My Mum Kathleen Cox nee Tirrell (in her own words)

War Time Experiences Of My Mum Kathleen Cox nee Tirrell (in her own words)

Good friend Sheila Khan has sent me this article written by her mother about her many experinces in WW2.

By Jan Rosser | 10 May 2020

Journey to Pandemonium

Journey to Pandemonium

When I set out in 2009 to become a novelist, I never imagined I would also have a children’s picture book published.

By Gail Aldwin | 26 Nov 2020

My Review And Q And A With The Upbeat Beatles

My Review And Q And A With The Upbeat Beatles

I went to see The Upbeat Beatles at The Courtyard in Hereford on 31st October 2019. What a show!

By Jan Rosser | 07 Nov 2019

Time To Take Stock? - Managing Your Weekly Money Budget Sensibly Like It Was In The 50's And 60's

Time To Take Stock? - Managing Your Weekly Money Budget Sensibly Like It Was In The 50's And 60's

I am a child of the fifties. I come from working class stock, my dad was a carpenter for Brighton Council for forty nine years . 

By Anne Elizabeth Jones | 04 Jun 2020

Review Of Winter Recipes - Tasty Wholesome Main Courses That Won't Break The Bank!

Review Of Winter Recipes - Tasty Wholesome Main Courses That Won't Break The Bank!

Winter is upon us and we will all be thinking of ways to make nutritious tasty meals to warm us up and not have to spend an enormous amount of money to achieve results.

By Jan Rosser | 03 Nov 2018

To Keep Or Sell My Car? That Is The Question

To Keep Or Sell My Car? That Is The Question

I have owned a car of one make or another for forty eight years without a break.

By Jan Rosser | 19 Sep 2020

My Review Of This House - A National Theatre And Chichester Theatre Production

My Review Of This House - A National Theatre And Chichester Theatre Production

Anyone who was taking notice of British politics during the 1970s will no doubt remember the ping-ponging of government between Labour and the Conservatives; the speeches and pronouncements of Edward Heath and Harold Wilson; and the ever-shrinking majority that paralysed the country for months, if not years. 

By Elizabeth Ducie | 16 May 2018

Mango Bay By Serena Fairfax

Mango Bay By Serena Fairfax

My latest book is out on September 28th 2020. Below is a synopsis.

By Serena Fairfax | 07 Sep 2020

Congratulations To All The Kids Who Were Born In The 1940's, 50's, 60's, 70's and 80's !!

Congratulations To All The Kids Who Were Born In The 1940's, 50's, 60's, 70's and 80's !!

I have been given permission to publish this article written by Frank Shenton. Makes interesting reading!

By Jan Rosser | 10 Dec 2020

Interviewing Ralph Mctell, Singer Songwriter Extraordinaire Part 3

Interviewing Ralph Mctell, Singer Songwriter Extraordinaire Part 3

The fifties were coming to an end and music was really starting to take off on all levels.

By Jan Rosser | 24 Jul 2020

Pension Money! - Don't Get Caught Out!

Pension Money! - Don't Get Caught Out!

This article was written by a dear friend two years ago who is sadly no longer with us. 

By Jan Rosser | 17 Oct 2020

To Keep Or Sell My Car? That Is The Question

To Keep Or Sell My Car? That Is The Question

I have owned a car of one make or another for forty eight years without a break.

By Jan Rosser | 19 Sep 2020

Interviewing Ralph Mctell, Singer Songwriter Extraordinaire Part 2

Interviewing Ralph Mctell, Singer Songwriter Extraordinaire Part 2

I asked Ralph when did he realise that he wanted to be a full time musician and he told me that you just don't dare believe it can happen.

By Jan Rosser | 17 Jul 2020

Interviewing Ralph McTell, Singer Songwriter Extraordinaire - Part 1

Interviewing Ralph McTell, Singer Songwriter Extraordinaire - Part 1

On 16th October 2014, I had the pleasure of interviewing one of my all time favourite singer songwriters, poet and author Ralph McTell.

By Jan Rosser | 10 Jul 2020

Give Your Family The Chance To Shop Around When You Die

Give Your Family The Chance To Shop Around When You Die

When you finally get your Will sorted, you’ll probably feel very pleased with yourself for a job well done.

By Jan Rosser | 04 Sep 2020

Readers Reviews Of Mango Bay By Serena Fairfax

Readers Reviews Of Mango Bay By Serena Fairfax

I am delighted to share readers reviews of Serena Fairfax latest novel Mango Bay.

By Jan Rosser | 04 Nov 2020

Quizspot, a world of quizzes at your fingertips!

Why not test your knowledge and have

some fun at the same time?

Click here to go to website.

CLARITY -An all natural voice spray

Clarity Voice Spray

Available in great tasting Elderberry or Honey and Lemon flavours.

Directions for use:

Shake before use. Spray into mouth. Use as often as required... Suitable for vegetarian use.

Ingredients:

Water, Glycerine, Aloe Vera, Flavour of choice (Elderberry Juice or Honey* Lemon juice)

Rose Cider Vinegar* and natural flavours* (extracts of liquorice, ginger, sage, thyme, rosehip, elderflower)

*organic ingredients used.

Made in the UK.

Give your voice clarity

Available to buy from Amazon in flavours Elderberry and Honey and Lemon

Creative Writing Student Handbook - Margaret James

Amazon review: a wonderful book, full of practical, useful tips.

If you're thinking about doing some creative writing this winter,

our 5* handbook will inspire you and give you confidence.

Available to buy from Amazon

successfulsinging.com

Our goal is to provide our singing community with quality products and resources to help get the most from their singing.

Over 215 FREE videos too, including singing lessons, scales, breathing exercises etc.

Subscribe below

 

The Final Reckoning

The Final Reckoning is an atmospheric, twisty thriller set in the peaceful (or maybe not so peaceful) Herefordshire countryside.

When Lindsay Ellis was a teenager,  he stumbled across the dead body of her boyfriend Simon’s father, who had been battered to death.

Someone in the village knows who murdered Simon's father, and why.

Does the actual killer suspect Lindsay also knows the identity of the murderer, and is Lindsay now in great danger, too?

Available to buy from Amazon