Reviewing Biker Babe Linda Loves A Norton!

Written by Jan Rosser in Memories on 03 Mar 2019 | Views: 696

Reviewing Biker Babe Linda Loves A Norton!

Linda Mitchelmore has updated this article she wrote for me a while ago and sent me the revised text below. I hope you enjoy reading!

I was eleven years old when I moved into the same, small cul-de-sac where Roger was already living. My first memory of him having a motorcycle was when I was fifteen and he – two years older -  had just passed his motorcycle test. He had a BSA Bantam .... like the telegram boys of old used to ride although his was green and they were always red. We lived in Paignton  both went to grammar schools in Totnes.

My husband's Model 7 Norton

I went by bus but Roger rode his Bantam to and from school when he was in the sixth form. It seemed very glamorous and slightly racy to know someone with a motorcycle and he played up to that by overtaking the girls’ school bus at what looked like break-neck speed, but certainly wasn’t. Less glamorous and racy was the beige duffel coat he always wore riding that Bantam. He still has that Bantam – one of the six motorcycles he now owns – although the duffel coat has long been assigned to the rag bag, thank goodness.  Our granddaughter, Emily, loves to sit on the Bantam as he drives her up and down the drive and she is counting off the days until she can ride it for herself.

Our Norton Dominator-the most comfortable ride for my old bones

When Roger got a bigger motorcycle – a Francis Barnett which he no longer has – I was working in a bank in Torquay and sometimes he would pass me walking home, stop, and offer me a lift  - no crash helmets in those days! Eventually we started going out together by which time Roger had a Morris Minor. When we decided to get married he sold the Morris Minor to put a deposit on a house and bought a Norton – for the princely sum of £67 – instead. 

I knew it was true love when he bought me a crash helmet for my eighteenth birthday! He still has that Norton and we’ve been to the Isle of Man on it for the TT races and also toured Brittany a couple of times. Pre children we often used to ride up to Gloucestershire to spend the weekend with his cousins. It was only when our children were teenagers that I was able to ride pillion again. These days my pillion-riding is restricted to charity bike nights on Paignton sea front during the summer months run by a group called bMad. There’s a charge of £1 per person to park up on the sea front and it’s not unusual, on a really warm, balmy, summer evening, to be able to count well over a thousand motorcycles of all capacities and ages. 

And talking of ages .... these days I am probably the oldest, female pillion passenger of the lot!

Our granddaughter, Emily revving up on BSA Bantam!

Every Tuesday morning – summer and winter – Roger still takes out his motorcycles in turn, meeting up with like-minded friends .... it’s a men only thing! He still does his own motorcycle maintenance and I still, from time to time, come home to find he’s got one bit of engine in the oven, and another in the fridge, so that when they are both at the right temperature the fit is better.... hey ho. As my dear old mum would have said ... a man with a hobby is far preferable to one without!

EDITOR: You can read a review by Margaret James of Linda's book on the website here.

Support Reviewspot by browsing the products below

Tags

Like this post? Share it with your friends

Related Articles

Revisiting Some Childhood Books

Revisiting Some Childhood Books

I was visiting a friend one day this week and she was looking after her grandson.

By Jan Rosser | 26 Jan 2019

Family learning, The People’s Book Prize and The String Games

Family learning, The People’s Book Prize and The String Games

I am delighted my debut novel The String Games has been longlisted in The People’s Book Prize for fiction 2019.

By Gail Aldwin | 04 Aug 2019

Navy Blue Knickers, Gym Slips and School Dinners - A Review Of My Grammar School

Navy Blue Knickers, Gym Slips and School Dinners - A Review Of My Grammar School

It’s been a while since I posted a memoir-based blog (apart from last month’s ‘Stranded in New York City’), the last one being ‘Four Schools in One Term’ so I thought it was about time I continued the story with my time at Farnworth Grammar School.

By Anne Harvey | 21 Nov 2018

Film Stars, Hair-Dos And Reminiscences

Film Stars, Hair-Dos And Reminiscences

One of the most interesting aspects of writing about the immediate past has been the research involved, especially the cover. Over the years my cover designer and I have had some interesting discussions about Teddy boys, 1950s hair-dos and film stars of that period.

By Anne Harvey | 15 Aug 2019

Reviewing My School Days-Happiest Of Your Lives? Not If You Don't Comply!

Reviewing My School Days-Happiest Of Your Lives? Not If You Don't Comply!

'School days 'The Happiest Days Of Our Lives', I beg to differ on many occasions!!!  My schooldays were from 1960-1971. Here is my personal review of that period!

By Jan Rosser | 04 Jul 2018

Readers Reviews Of Only One Woman By Christina Jones And Jane Risdon

Readers Reviews Of Only One Woman By Christina Jones And Jane Risdon

Katrin from Accent Press has very kindly donated copies of Only One Woman by Christina Jones and Jane Risdon.If you love music and remember the heady days of the 60's, read on! Let me start by introducing the authors.

By Jan Rosser | 19 Oct 2018

A Youthful Revolution?

A Youthful Revolution?

In preparation for an up-coming author talk, I’ve been giving much thought to that time between 1954 and 1960 when a momentous change seemed to be taking place.

By Anne Harvey | 02 Aug 2019

Grandparents – The Cornerstone Of Family Life

Grandparents – The Cornerstone Of Family Life

I was amazed to read, the other day, that one in every three people over the age of 50 in the UK is a grandparent. 

By Wendy White | 15 Aug 2018

Going Back To The Sixties And My First Job!

Going Back To The Sixties And My First Job!

So the question was what was the first job we had?

By Di Castle | 27 Jul 2019

A Review Of Nostalgic Road Trip With My New Car - A Story About Growing Up!

A Review Of Nostalgic Road Trip With My New Car - A Story About Growing Up!

Age 17 years, two months, three days and my first car had been bought and delivered. 

By Jan Rosser | 02 Dec 2018

A Youthful Revolution?

A Youthful Revolution?

In preparation for an up-coming author talk, I’ve been giving much thought to that time between 1954 and 1960 when a momentous change seemed to be taking place.

By Anne Harvey | 02 Aug 2019

Not all CBD oils are the same.

We offer a full spectrum, genuine 'golden' CBD oil which has the unwanted plant matter and chlorophyll removed, leaving a better tasting and more effective extract, packed full of active cannabinoids.

We ensure our products have a high CBD content, giving better value for money. Our oil is as close to natural as we can get it and is vegan friendly.

We don't make medical claims but it you're yet to discover CBD then do some research and find out why so many people around the world are turning to it for their wellbeing.

Buy from TheHerbKingdom.com

It's the wedding season again and Cat is looking forward to her big day. But will it all work out?

Buy from Amazon.

Available in great tasting Elderberry or Honey and Lemon flavours.

Directions for use:

Shake before use. Spray into mouth. Use as often as required... Suitable for vegetarian use.

Ingredients:

Water, Glycerine, Aloe Vera, Flavour of choice (Elderberry Juice or Honey* Lemon juice)

Rose Cider Vinegar* and natural flavours* (extracts of liquorice, ginger, sage, thyme, rosehip, elderflower)

*organic ingredients used.

Made in the UK.

Give your voice clarity

Available to buy from Amazon in flavours Elderberry and Honey and Lemon

Amazon review: a wonderful book, full of practical, useful tips.

If you're thinking about doing some creative writing this winter,

our 5* handbook will inspire you and give you confidence.

Available to buy from Amazon