Crabbie's Simnel Cake - A Delicious Alternative For Easter!

Written by Jan Rosser in Food and Drink on 06 Apr 2020 | Views: 26

Crabbie's Simnel Cake - A Delicious Alternative For Easter!

My late mother made the most delicious Simnel cakes. I have not made one since she passed away in 2014, but the following recipe may tempt me. I wonder if it will match hers!

Ingredients:

250g butter
250g brown sugar
5 eggs
100ml Crabbie’s Alcoholic Scottish Raspberry Ginger Beer
250g self raising flour
200g sultanas
100g currants
100g dried cherries
2 orange zest
2tsp mixed spice
700g marzipan
100g raspberries

For the candied nuts:

150g whole almonds
150g sugar

Method:

Pre-heat oven 150° gas mark 3.
Cream the butter & sugar together in a mixer then add the eggs one by one, then pour in the Crabbie’s.
Sieve the flour and mixed spice into the bowl and fold in. Add the currants, cherries and sultanas.
Place half of the mix into a 10” cake tin.
Roll out about 200g of marzipan to 10” and place on top of the mix. Put the other half of the mix into the tin, cover in tin foil and put in the oven to bake for 3 hours.
Transfer to a cooling rack, let cool for 1 hour.
Roll out another 10” marzipan ring and place on top.
Make 11 balls of marzipan at 20g each by rolling in the palm of your hands. Place round the edges of the cake evenly spread and put under the grill until the marzipan goes golden brown.

For the Candied nuts:

Put the sugar in a heavy based sauce pan with a splash of water and bring to 121° then add the nuts stirring constantly with a wooden spoon until the sugar has cooled and the nuts are coated. Place one candied nut on top of each marzipan ball and position raspberries in between each marzipan ball.

ENJOY!

Support Reviewspot by browsing the products below

Tags

Like this post? Share it with your friends

Related Articles

Roast Lamb Marinated In Jack Daniel's Hot Pepper Steak Sauce With Cumin Sweet Potatoes

Roast Lamb Marinated In Jack Daniel's Hot Pepper Steak Sauce With Cumin Sweet Potatoes

This looks like a really tasty version of Roast Lamb including Jack Daniel's Hot Pepper Sauce used to marinate.

By Jan Rosser | 11 Apr 2020

Thai Fish Soup

Thai Fish Soup

As a lover of home made soups, I can thoroughly recommend this delicious Thai fish soup, a winter warmer and so delicious and easy to make, in just 3 steps!

By Adrienne Laverick | 26 Nov 2020

Interviewing Jeannette Hyde, Best Selling Author Of The Gut Makeover And The Gut Makeover Recipe Book

Interviewing Jeannette Hyde, Best Selling Author Of The Gut Makeover And The Gut Makeover Recipe Book

I was delighted to be interview Jeannette Hyde, best selling author of The Gut Makeover and The Gut Makeover Recipe Book for my other website OAPSchat which is now archived as www.OAPSchat.ReviewSpot.co.uk . Maybe if some ReviewSpot members buy these books, they would like to share their experiences with us?

By Jan Rosser | 20 Jun 2018

Review Of Winter Recipes - Tasty Wholesome Main Courses That Won't Break The Bank!

Review Of Winter Recipes - Tasty Wholesome Main Courses That Won't Break The Bank!

Winter is upon us and we will all be thinking of ways to make nutritious tasty meals to warm us up and not have to spend an enormous amount of money to achieve results.

By Jan Rosser | 03 Nov 2018

A Week On Ready Meals From Marks And Spencer - Day 6 Spicy Prawn Spaghetti

A Week On Ready Meals From Marks And Spencer - Day 6 Spicy Prawn Spaghetti

Day 6 meal is a Spicy Prawn Spaghetti dish which is ideal as a main meal for lunch or dinner. 

By Jan Rosser | 15 Jun 2018

Reviewing Tasty Pudding Recipes - Just Right For Winter Days!

Reviewing Tasty Pudding Recipes - Just Right For Winter Days!

This week I am sharing some OAPSchatters pudding recipes which were published in December 2017. Lead image was taken by Bryony Hill.

By Jan Rosser | 10 Nov 2018

Quizspot, a world of quizzes at your fingertips!

Why not test your knowledge and have

some fun at the same time?

Click here to go to website.

successfulsinging.com

Our goal is to provide our singing community with quality products and resources to help get the most from their singing.

Over 215 FREE videos too, including singing lessons, scales, breathing exercises etc.

Subscribe below

 

The Final Reckoning

The Final Reckoning is an atmospheric, twisty thriller set in the peaceful (or maybe not so peaceful) Herefordshire countryside.

When Lindsay Ellis was a teenager,  he stumbled across the dead body of her boyfriend Simon’s father, who had been battered to death.

Someone in the village knows who murdered Simon's father, and why.

Does the actual killer suspect Lindsay also knows the identity of the murderer, and is Lindsay now in great danger, too?

Available to buy from Amazon

 

CLARITY -An all natural voice spray

Clarity Voice Spray

Available in great tasting Elderberry or Honey and Lemon flavours.

Directions for use:

Shake before use. Spray into mouth. Use as often as required... Suitable for vegetarian use.

Ingredients:

Water, Glycerine, Aloe Vera, Flavour of choice (Elderberry Juice or Honey* Lemon juice)

Rose Cider Vinegar* and natural flavours* (extracts of liquorice, ginger, sage, thyme, rosehip, elderflower)

*organic ingredients used.

Made in the UK.

Give your voice clarity

Available to buy from Amazon in flavours Elderberry and Honey and Lemon

Herb Kingdom

Not all CBD oils are the same.

We offer a full spectrum, genuine 'golden' CBD oil which has the unwanted plant matter and chlorophyll removed, leaving a better tasting and more effective extract, packed full of active cannabinoids.

We ensure our products have a high CBD content, giving better value for money. Our oil is as close to natural as we can get it and is vegan friendly.

We don't make medical claims but if you're yet to discover CBD then do some research and find out why so many people around the world are turning to it for their wellbeing.

Buy from

https://theherbkingdom.com/ref/7/

Notes From The Lost by Cathie Hartigan

Two young friends go to war, but only one makes it home. Why is he not welcomed? 

In modern-day Exeter, Ros discovers what happened,

but in doing so reveals long-held family secrets.

For better, or for worse?

"a gripping and well-researched WW2 story, full of heart and emotion. Ros didn't just hold her own future in her hands,

she held the destiny of the people that she now knew as friends."

What an incredible story.

I loved the songs, felt like I could hear

the music and adored the ending.

Truly a wonderful read."

Available to buy from Amazon.