Grandparents – The Cornerstone Of Family Life

Written by Wendy White in Books on 15 Aug 2018 | Views: 4585

Grandparents – The Cornerstone Of Family Life

I was amazed to read, the other day, that one in every three people over the age of 50 in the UK is a grandparent. 

That’s an awful lot of grandparents – around 14 million, apparently. And with the cost of childcare being so high, many of them are looking after their grandchildren on a regular basis, saving their own children £6.8 billion – as a nation, that is.

Grandparents are an important part of our society. I’m not one myself just yet, but I certainly know their value. Years ago I relied on my own parents to care for my two young children once a week.

Not only did I benefit from knowing my children were well looked after, but my children benefited too. They have a lovely relationship with my parents and have very fond memories of the time they spent with them when they were little. My parents enjoyed helping out too, and being a regular part of my children’s lives.

Of course, grandparents have a reputation for being a little less strict with their grandchildren than parents tend to be. My own parents were certainly more relaxed with Rebecca and Jonathan than they were with me. I well remember the day Jonathan, then six, found a garlic crusher and a bowl of very ripe cherry tomatoes in my parents’ kitchen. When I arrived to pick him up after work, I found not only the kitchen worktop and tiles decorated with tomato seeds, but the wallpaper and cream roller blinds splattered too. There were even seeds on the ceiling! I was ready to tell him off, but my mum thought it was hilarious.

I’m not sure I’d have got away with that as a child.

I drew on my own children’s relationship with my parents to create the couple who represent grandparents in my debut novel, ‘Not Thomas’. Nanno and Dat are foster parents looking after Tomos, the child of a girl who was once in their care. Tomos thinks of Nanno and Dat as his ‘foster grandparents’ and he loves them to bits. He has a wonderful relationship with them. They chat about all sorts of things, sing songs and enjoy sharing games and books.

They’ve given him a happy and stable home for the first five years of his life, but when the novel begins, Tomos has been taken from their care and sent to live with his mum who’s hiding a drug addiction. She badly neglects Tomos, and he misses Nanno and Dat terribly and longs to return to their happy, safe home. The story is told through his eyes and in his voice, and attempts to describe what child neglect feels like.

Since early copies of ‘Not Thomas’ came out in June, I’ve met a number of grandparents who’ve experienced first-hand many of the issues my novel deals with, especially problems related to substance misuse. I’ve been saddened by some of the conversations I’ve had, but not surprised. I’ve worked as a teacher and I know there are terrible situations in some families.

Grandparents often come to the rescue and become the cornerstone when families go wrong. There are many whose grandchildren live with them, sometimes permanently, because of a problem their son or daughter has. This could be bereavement, disability, illness or imprisonment, but often it’s because they have a drug addiction.

In England and Wales, it’s estimated that up to 300,000 children have a parent with a serious drug problem. It’s not surprising then that I’m meeting grandparent after grandparent who’s worried sick about what’s happening to their grandchildren. They are often the adult who has to deal with the fall-out.

Fortunately, the input of grandparents can be a very positive influence on children’s lives, no matter how difficult the situation they find themselves in.

My novel, ‘Not Thomas’, is a sad story at times, but it’s also what one reviewer called ‘an affirmation of the human spirit’. That seems to be the perfect phrase to describe the relationship between grandparents and grandchildren too.

As my own children discovered, older people are often more relaxed, are great fun to be with and offer a different perspective on life. The University of Oxford recently conducted a study. It found that children who had a high level of involvement with their grandparents had fewer behavioural and emotional problems.

Now that’s a great reason to spend more time with the grandchildren.

Support Reviewspot by browsing the products below

Tags

Like this post? Share it with your friends

Related Articles

Synopsis Of KNIGHT: Yorkshireman, Storyteller, Spy

Synopsis Of KNIGHT: Yorkshireman, Storyteller, Spy

Paula from Ouen Press tells us about this biography by Greg Christie which is released as an Audiobook today June 3rd 2019.

By Jan Rosser | 03 Jun 2019

Readers Reviews Of A Random Act Of Kindness By Sophie Jenkins

Readers Reviews Of A Random Act Of Kindness By Sophie Jenkins

Sabah Khan from Avon Books has donated copies of A Random Act of Kindness and I am delighted to feature readers reviews of Sophie Jenkins latest novel.

By Jan Rosser | 04 Jul 2019

A Youthful Revolution?

A Youthful Revolution?

In preparation for an up-coming author talk, I’ve been giving much thought to that time between 1954 and 1960 when a momentous change seemed to be taking place.

By Anne Harvey | 02 Aug 2019

Readers Reviews Of The Posthumous Adventures Of Harry Whittaker By Bobbie Darbyshire

Readers Reviews Of The Posthumous Adventures Of Harry Whittaker By Bobbie Darbyshire

Sandstone Press have kindly donated five copies of this book and readers reviews are now ready to share with you all.

By Jan Rosser | 15 Jul 2019

Readers Reviews Of The Final Reckoning By Margaret James

Readers Reviews Of The Final Reckoning By Margaret James

Novelist Margaret James has a new thriller out which was published by Ruby Fiction on January 22nd 2019. 

By Jan Rosser | 24 Jan 2019

Reviewing The Book Of Wonders By Julien Sandrel

Reviewing The Book Of Wonders By Julien Sandrel

The title of this book makes you want to open it straight away and start reading.

By Jan Rosser | 27 Jun 2019

Whatever Happened To Manners And Respecting Your Elders?

Whatever Happened To Manners And Respecting Your Elders?

A crammed car park in the height of summer. We spot an area of scrub at the far end, pull in and park next to a van.

By Di Castle | 12 Sep 2019

Film Stars, Hair-Dos And Reminiscences

Film Stars, Hair-Dos And Reminiscences

One of the most interesting aspects of writing about the immediate past has been the research involved, especially the cover. 

By Anne Harvey | 15 Aug 2019

My Review Of A Perfect Husband By Hilary Boyd

My Review Of A Perfect Husband By Hilary Boyd

Bestselling author Hilary Boyd has written many wonderful novels, but in her latest she has surpassed herself. 

By Margaret James | 14 Mar 2019

Readers Reviews Of Akea By Elizabeth Jade

Readers Reviews Of Akea By Elizabeth Jade

Elizabeth Jade's mother Amanda Barton has very kindly donated copies of Akea and readers reviews are given below.

By Jan Rosser | 22 Mar 2019

Readers Reviews Of Fabulous Books From Urbane Publications Part 2

Readers Reviews Of Fabulous Books From Urbane Publications Part 2

Following on from the very popular first article of authors publications, here are some more great readers reviews.

By Jan Rosser | 24 Aug 2018

My Review of Anne Allen’s The Inheritance

My Review of Anne Allen’s The Inheritance

I really enjoy books based on events from history so top marks to The Inheritance, Anne Allen’s seventh book in the Guernsey novel series, a fictional account of Victor Hugo’s exile from France which is set in my favourite Channel Island. 

By Marilyn Chapman | 10 May 2019

A Review Of Nostalgic Road Trip With My New Car - A Story About Growing Up!

A Review Of Nostalgic Road Trip With My New Car - A Story About Growing Up!

Age 17 years, two months, three days and my first car had been bought and delivered. 

By Jan Rosser | 02 Dec 2018

Readers Reviews Of The Foundling School For Girls By Elizabeth Gill

Readers Reviews Of The Foundling School For Girls By Elizabeth Gill

Ella from Quercus very kindly sent out copies of Elizabeth's latest novel to reviewers and here are their posts.

By Jan Rosser | 14 Sep 2019

Readers Reviews Of The String Games By Gail Aldwin

Readers Reviews Of The String Games By Gail Aldwin

The String Games by Gail Aldwin is published by Victoriana Press. Three copies have been donated and I now include two of the reviews. 

By Jan Rosser | 28 Aug 2019

Readers Reviews Of Urbane Publications Part 3

Readers Reviews Of Urbane Publications Part 3

I am delighted to be publishing Part 3 of readers reviews of Urbane books. My thanks to Matthew for donating the books.

By Jan Rosser | 09 Nov 2018

My Review Of The House Of Hopes And Dreams By Trisha Ashley

My Review Of The House Of Hopes And Dreams By Trisha Ashley

This delicious new romantic comedy from the Sunday Times bestselling novelist is four hundred pages of pure delight, with recipes as well!

By Margaret James | 12 Apr 2018

Encouraging Emotional Resilience in your Grandchildren

Encouraging Emotional Resilience in your Grandchildren

It’s hard to see your grandchild struggling with low self-esteem or anxiety. The best thing you can do for their mental health is to set a good example. 

By Poppy O'Neill | 21 Sep 2018

My Review Of The Forgotten Guide To Happiness By Sophie Jenkins

My Review Of The Forgotten Guide To Happiness By Sophie Jenkins

When novelist Lana Green’s literary agent tells Lana that her second, as-yet-unpublished novel is actually never going to be published because it’s depressing, bleak and bitter, Lana is upset but not really surprised that her novel about rejection has been rejected.

By Margaret James | 16 Aug 2018

Navy Blue Knickers, Gym Slips and School Dinners - A Review Of My Grammar School

Navy Blue Knickers, Gym Slips and School Dinners - A Review Of My Grammar School

It’s been a while since I posted a memoir-based blog (apart from last month’s ‘Stranded in New York City’), the last one being ‘Four Schools in One Term.’ 

By Anne Harvey | 21 Nov 2018

The Lost Generation.  Is This The End Of The Photo Album?

The Lost Generation. Is This The End Of The Photo Album?

When was the last time saw an album of someone’s family photos and, more importantly, when was the last time you looked – yes really looked  – at your own family photographs?  

By Di Castle | 21 Sep 2019

Readers reviews Of We'll Meet Again By Rosie Archer

Readers reviews Of We'll Meet Again By Rosie Archer

I am delighted to be sharing readers reviews of Rosie Archer's latest novel. My thanks to Ella at Quercus.

By Jan Rosser | 16 Sep 2019

The Little B&B At Cove End

The Little B&B At Cove End

‘Write what you know’ is one of the bits of writing advice oft-quoted to wannabe novelists. So … The Little B&B at Cove End?

By Linda Mitchelmore | 22 Sep 2019

Readers Reviews Of Quality Quercus Books Part 1

Readers Reviews Of Quality Quercus Books Part 1

I am delighted to be publishing the first article of readers reviews of Quercus Books. 

By Jan Rosser | 25 Feb 2019

Readers Reviews Of All Summer With You By Beth Good

Readers Reviews Of All Summer With You By Beth Good

Ella Patel from Quercus Books has very kindly sent out copies of Beth Good latest novel and I'm pleased to be sharing readers reviews with you all.

By Jan Rosser | 12 Aug 2019

Readers Reviews Of KNIGHT, Yorkshire Man, Storyteller, Spy by Greg Christie

Readers Reviews Of KNIGHT, Yorkshire Man, Storyteller, Spy by Greg Christie

Paula Comley from Ouen Press has donated three copies of KNIGHT to two of my lucky reviewers and one to me. Here are our reviews to share with you all.

By Jan Rosser | 22 Jul 2019

Readers Reviews Of True Crime Novel - Undercover : Operation Julie - The Inside Story By Stephen Bentley

Readers Reviews Of True Crime Novel - Undercover : Operation Julie - The Inside Story By Stephen Bentley

This is the first time my team of reviewers and I have reviewed a TRUE crime novel. See our posts below!

By Jan Rosser | 21 Mar 2019

Readers Reviews Of The Bluebird Girls By Rosie Archer

Readers Reviews Of The Bluebird Girls By Rosie Archer

Quercus Publications have very kindly sent out copies of The Bluebird Girls by Rosie Archer and readers reviews are now here for you to read.

By Jan Rosser | 01 Apr 2019

Family learning, The People’s Book Prize and The String Games

Family learning, The People’s Book Prize and The String Games

I am delighted my debut novel The String Games has been longlisted in The People’s Book Prize for fiction 2019.

By Gail Aldwin | 04 Aug 2019

Reviewing Biker Babe Linda Loves A Norton!

Reviewing Biker Babe Linda Loves A Norton!

Linda Mitchelmore has updated this article she wrote for me a while ago and sent me the revised text below. I hope you enjoy reading!

By Jan Rosser | 03 Mar 2019

Not all CBD oils are the same.

We offer a full spectrum, genuine 'golden' CBD oil which has the unwanted plant matter and chlorophyll removed, leaving a better tasting and more effective extract, packed full of active cannabinoids.

We ensure our products have a high CBD content, giving better value for money. Our oil is as close to natural as we can get it and is vegan friendly.

We don't make medical claims but it you're yet to discover CBD then do some research and find out why so many people around the world are turning to it for their wellbeing.

Buy from TheHerbKingdom.com

It's the wedding season again and Cat is looking forward to her big day. But will it all work out?

Buy from Amazon.

Available in great tasting Elderberry or Honey and Lemon flavours.

Directions for use:

Shake before use. Spray into mouth. Use as often as required... Suitable for vegetarian use.

Ingredients:

Water, Glycerine, Aloe Vera, Flavour of choice (Elderberry Juice or Honey* Lemon juice)

Rose Cider Vinegar* and natural flavours* (extracts of liquorice, ginger, sage, thyme, rosehip, elderflower)

*organic ingredients used.

Made in the UK.

Give your voice clarity

Available to buy from Amazon in flavours Elderberry and Honey and Lemon

Amazon review: a wonderful book, full of practical, useful tips.

If you're thinking about doing some creative writing this winter,

our 5* handbook will inspire you and give you confidence.

Available to buy from Amazon